ghost

A ghost, Wooooooo!

Scott: Ghosts.

So what is a ghost?

Scott: They don’t exist.

Helen: They don’t even look like anything, they don’t look like anything I know – glub glub. They’re white all over.

Scott, how do you know they don’t exist?

Scott: Well, I’ve never ever seen one – if they did, they’d be very common because a lot of people have died during the past.

Have you ever seen an elephant?

Scott: I do know they exist – maybe, I’m not sure.

Helen: I have.

Scott: Why were we talking about elephants? I thought our project was ghosts?

Well, I was going to say that you’ve never seen an elephant and you know they exist – why should ghosts be different?

Scott: People don’t come back from the dead so they don’t exist – and a lot of people have died and it’s a wonder this world isn’t covered in ghosts by now. If they exist, the world would be covered in ghosts.

But people have seen ghosts.

Scott: Have they? Can anyone prove that to me? Even a picture of a ghost.

I’ll show you one (Daddy shows Scott book of ghost he read as a child).

Scott: I can’t believe they exist – I wonder if I’ve ever seen one?

I’m not saying they do or don’t exist.

Scott: They might. Can I read your book?

It might be a bit scary.

Scott: I’ll manage.

Are ghosts real or not?

Scott: I’m feeling… I can’t really decide because of that picture – it made me in the middle.

If ghosts exist, what do you think they are?

Scott: They’d be like sort of… shadowy black and white people so they’re like in black and white like it’s in older days TV – that’s sort of black and white. If we’d walked through them, we’d feel like we dropped into an ice cold bath.

Would they be scary?

Scott: Em… I’m not sure about that one – let’s not do that question.

Some people think a ghost is a bit of a person left behind after they die.

Scott: Can people turn into ghosts?

Nobody knows if they exist.

Scott: I think people who have seen them think they do.

You might see a ghost tonight.

Scott: I don’t think it’ll happen really. Maybe if I look round, I might see one.

If you see one, I hope it’s a friendly ghost.

Scott: It’ll only be out the window.

Why?

Scott: Because I might be looking out the window.

But it might be in your room.

Scott: I don’t think there’s much chance of that.

Why not?

Scott: Well, I know that ghosts go through walls and all that but… There’s hardly any chance because it’s night-time and there’s not much chance of being able to see much, right?