Following his previous two excursions into music reviews, Scott asked if he could “listen to some more music and talk about it”. After Tubular Bells and Screamadelica, we took a slightly different approach this time round: I asked Scott to randomly choose a CD from my collection. And the ‘lucky winners’ were American all-female alt-country ensemble Hazeldine and their acclaimed 2001 album Double Back. If Scott likes this, I’ll eat my Stetson…

Scott's Hazeldine

Scott's drawing of the album cover...

Hazeldine

...and the real cover - spot the difference!

Why did you choose this?

Scott: I just thought the cover looked good and black and white.

What do you think it’ll sound like?

Scott: Maybe a little bit slow and…

Helen: Like a trumpet.

Scott: Don’t be silly.

Track one – When You Sleep

Scott: This is what I was expecting – pretty slow. Picking up a little bit of speed. Once talking – blah blah blah.

Helen: More like bells.

Scott: I’m still thinking it’s talking. I thought it sounded a little bit boring.

Track two – Valentine

Scott: Quite slow with also some talking. Still more slow talking. Next chapter!

Track three – Body and Soul

Scott: Come on now – come on now, do some talking…. A sort of cowboy sort of music.

Track four – Sunset Strip

Scott: Oh yes – talking all that etc etc.

Track five – Miss Ordinary

Scott: That’s slow music talking – the same.

Track six – Smaller

Helen: That sounds like a guitar. A guitar!

Track seven – Fletcher’s Bar

Scott: Okay, a little bit boring. Sounds like guitar.

Helen: Guitar!

Scott: But… But… There’s going to be talking. Yeah, really.

Track eight – Broken Glass

Scott: Well, a sort of cowboy talking. Next chapter!

Track nine – Double Back

Scott: Just the boring slow slow slow… boring… slow…

Track 10 – Twisted

Scott: BUT THEN BORING SLOW! But then boring slow talking – now some talking…

Track 11 – Say Goodbye

Scott: Oh come on! That’s cool! Give me some! Cool! That’s really cool, give me some of that.

Track 12 – My Lady

Scott: Boring slow music.

Track 13 – Rostock

Scott: The same boring music. Come on, that’s cool – give me some! There’s the talking in the background. Yes, it’s very very boring talking in the background – most boring talking in the background. Next next next next.

That was the last track.

Scott: Can we watch a DVD now?

What did you think of that?

Scott: Don’t add in that thing about the DVD, okay? It was good, but too much talking.

Marks out of 10?

Scott: Seven.

That seems quite high, you didn’t seem to like it.

Scott: I didn’t like it, I made it lose three points because of the talking. It usually two, but I made it lose three because it was especially slow.