sherlock

One of Scott's bedtime listening CDs - with some extra text.

Scott: How about detectives?

Okay. What is a detective?

Scott: Oh… I knew that would be the first question… Well, it’s a person who solves crimes and… Finishes mysteries. Usually works with the police force. And a detective called Paul Temple was played by someone called Peter Cook.

Wasn’t Cook spelled…

Scott: C-O-K-E – yes.

How do they solve crimes?

Scott: Well, mostly… Some mysteries come in different parts and some… Come in one part and there’s lots of different ones.

Who’s your favourite detective?

Scott: I don’t know.

When do you usually read or listen to detective stories?

Scott: I usually read them once I’ve gone to bed – I mean listen to them. The most commonly-known detective is Sherlock Holmes. Some people might not even know he’s a detective, but that’s a commonly-known name. Lots of people visit Baker Street and the person who lives there has to tell them Sherlock Holmes isn’t a real person.

Would you like to be a detective?

Scott: I haven’t decided yet – I’m only seven.

But would it not be fun to solve mysteries?

Scott: I don’t know. I think it would be quite good – but I’m only seven.