ghost 1

What is a ghost?

Scott: Well, a ghost is… The easiest way to put it is as (singing) a spirit from the dead.

Are they real?

Scott: Yes.

How do you know?

Scott: (pause) See the photographs – the photographs in the book.

How is a ghost created?

Scott: (pause) From the dead, as I said.

But how does it happen?

Scott: They come out of the grave as vapour. Quite obviously, and that’s okay.

And where do they live?

Scott: I don’t really think ghosts live places.

So where do they hang out?

Scott: I don’t really think they do either.

So what do they do?

Scott: Walk around unseen and pop out wherever and whenever they feel like it.

Would you like to see a ghost?

Scott: If it was possible, and if I brought a camera.

Would it not be scary?

Scott: Not really.

Why not?

Scott: Well, it wouldn’t… Well, yes and no. It would be scary and exciting – so I don’t really know what that is.

What would you like to see a ghost of?

Scott: I don’t know.

What would you not like to see a ghost of?

Scott: I don’t know.

Helen, what would you like to see a ghost of?

Helen: Hay.

Scott: Why would you want to see a ghost of hay? Hay doesn’t die.

Helen: I mean a ghost built out of hay.

ghost 2

An excerpt from one of Daddy's favourite childhood books, 1977's All About Ghosts - now it's one of Scott's favourite books.