whale

Helen’s drawing of a whale, blowing water out of its spout.

Helen: Whales?

Okay, what is a whale?

Helen: It’s something with a big back that pushes water out of its back.

Scott: But Helen, it’s a marine animal.

Have you ever seen one?

Helen: No, of course not.

Have you seen pictures?

Helen: I’ve seen black whales before – but never a black one.

How big are they?

Helen: This big (gestures about two feet in width)

Scott: That’s tiny – they’re about the length of this bath we’re in just now. And the height of two baths.

Helen: If they were standing up? On their heads or tails or tummy?

Scott: Like two of these baths.

Whales are bigger than that.

Scott: Are they? I’m not sure…

Yes, they’re about the size of a bus.

Helen: A one decker or double decker?

Scott: A one, I think.

Helen: I think he means two.

Scott: Which one?

A double decker.

Helen: I was right!

Anything else you want to tell me?

Scott: Eh… I’m amazed they’re the size of a double decker bus. Imagine, a double decker bus. Imagine see something that size in the sea.

Would it be scary?

Scott: Too big.

Would you like a pet one?

Scott: (laughs)

Is that a silly idea?

Scott: Yeah – why would you want something the size of a double decker in your house? Even a one decker bus would be large.

You wouldn’t lose it, though…

Scott: Yeah… No… Well… It would sort of explode your house.