ray rat

Ray the rat, pictured by Scott on one of his trips from the cage.

So we’ve got a loan of a couple of rats for a few days.

Scott: Yeah.

How are they?

Scott: Great.

What are they called?

Scott: Em… Ray and Steve. Ray’s the brown one that likes exploring and Steve’s the one that does basically nothing apart eat and sleep. I think we’re going to get on well with the rats, aren’t we?

I think so.

Scott: Yeah, you can say that.

What’s the best thing about them?

Scott: (holds nose) I can tell you the worst thing.

The smell?

Scott: Yeah.

The rats don’t smell at all – that smell’s their special Sunday dinner.

Scott: I know – it’s the cat food. Phew!

Luckily, they only have that once a week.

Scott: Will we still be able to watch TV with the rats?

Yes, as long as you’re quiet and don’t jump about.

Scott: I’ll try.

Okay, I think we’ll get on fine then.

Scott: Okay!