dolphin 2

Helen’s brilliant drawing of a dolphin leaping out from under the sea…

Okay, what are we blogging about?

Scott: That’s a hard question.

Anything exciting at school today?

Scott: Eh… Em… Not really.

Did you read anything exciting?

Scott: Eh… What do you mean? I mean no, I haven’t read anything exciting.

Helen, what do you want to blog about?

Helen: Whales.

Scott: Let’s blog about whales, then.

She always wants to talk about whales.

Scott: I think she does.

What about something else?

Helen: Eh… Dolphins.

Why do you always want to talk about water creatures?

Helen: I just wanted to talk about a water creature.

Tell me about dolphins, then.

Helen: Eh… They jump up from under water.

Scott: Yeah, you could say that. Think of a dolphin and a cow and then think: “This is a picture of two dolphins, the more difference I see between the two, the more stressed you are.” They’re very different, so you’re very stressed.

Are dolphins clever?

Helen: Eh… I don’t know.

Scott: I wouldn’t have thought so.

Helen: They are.

Scott: As in – I don’t really know.

They’re really clever.

Scott: Really, how do you know?

They’ve got their own language.

Scott: Really? Every animal has its own language.

They can learn to do things.

Scott: Like?

Jumping and tricks.

Scott: Yeah.

Eh… And other clever stuff too.

Scott: Really?

Are they your favourite water creature, Helen?

Helen: Eh… My favourite is mostly a humpback whale.

Scott: Why didn’t you blog about that?But dolphins can be quite interesting…

dolphin 1

…And Scott’s great drawing of a whale/dolphin.