scott skeleton

Scott’s brilliant drawing of a skeleton…

Scott: Scraggy? Scraggy?

Helen: Skeletons.

What do you think, Scott?

Scott: Scraggy.

Helen: Skeletons or X-rays?

Scott: Why not Scraggy?

Because it’s too annoying… Skeletons?

Scott: I guess I’ve got no choice…

Helen: Skeletons or X-rays – they’re mostly the same.

Scott: I guess I’ve got no choice. Guess we should talk about skeletons…

What does a skeleton do?

Scott: Well, without skeletons we’d just be a floppy, mushy bit of skin.

Helen: Usually, it’s a bit of bone.

So everyone’s got a skeleton?

Scott: Well, eh…

Helen: Yeah.

Scott: Invertebrates probably don’t.

Helen: Except for… For… Objects like bags that don’t have bones.

Scott: Every living thing he means. Invertebrates don’t.

Helen: And houses don’t. And bricks don’t. Most things don’t.

Scott: Helen, I think he means living things – not everything in the world made of matter. Invertebrates probably don’t have skeletons.

Helen: Yeah.

Scott: You don’t even know what the word means.

Helen: It’s a tardigrade.

Scott: I guess you’re right – I can’t top that. Tardigrades don’t have bones – they’re just like big bags.

helen skeleton

…And Helen’s.